Slide #1 image

Cauayan City Water District

Tubig ay ingatan, sapagkat ito'y may hangganan.

About Us


History / Mission & Vision / BOD & Management


The Cauayan City Water District was established by virtue of PD 198 otherwise known and referred to as “ The Provincial Water Utilities Act of 1973”. It originally started as two (2) Rural Waterworks and Sanitation Association (RWSA) namely the Turayong RWSA and San Fermin RWSA. These water systems, were constructed courtesy of the United States Agency for International Development (USAID) funds thru the defunct Rural Water Development Council (RWDC) which is the regulatory and supervisory agency of RSWA’s. The two (2) water systems started operation on July 1, 1988 with two reservoirs and two deep wells located at Turayong Water System and San Fermin Water System respectively. Consequently, management of these two water systems was merged into one which gave rise to Metro Cauayan Water District, duly registered with the Department of Trade and Industries. This was undertaken upon the suggestion of the late Hon. Faustino N. Dy, then the Provincial Governor of Isabela, in fact, antedating Executive Order 24, dated January 30, 1987, issued by the late President Corazon C. Aquino, effectively abolishing Rural Water Development Council (RWDC) and transferred its functions to Local Water Utilities Administration (LWUA).

In line with the program of then Mayor of Cauayan City, the late Hon. Benjamin G. Dy, that is “Unity for Development and Progress”, the Metro Cauayan Water District organized the Federation of Isabela Rural Water Works Sanitation Association (FIRWASA) with the objective – to have unity of purpose and action, and share training of RWSA employees of member water systems, to wit, Aurora RWSA, Gamu RWSA, Jones RWSA, Naguilian RWSA, Minante 1 RWSA, and Cauayan RSWA. The Metro Cauayan Water District, whose employees were trained by LWUA and shared and cascaded the same training to the other water systems under FIRWASA.

The MCWD which later evolved into what is now called the Cauayan City Water District (CCWD) was organized pursuant to Board of Directors Resolution No. 27 Series 1997 and Conditional Certificate of Conformance No. 183 issued by LWUA breathing into it its corporate life, the CCWD further animated its public responsibility thru the stewardship of the late Mr. Vicente D. Talosig, the Chairman and General Manager, the Members of the Board of Directors Mrs. Patria Q. Uy, Dr. Mariano C. Alera (deceased), Amor G. Sabas, Nestor Daquioag (deceased), with a lean organization of 9 employees to service some 1,000 connections from 5 Barangays.